It’s Kind Of Like Speed Walking

Speed walking has got to be one of the most difficult races to ever compete in.  You’re rushing along, trying to be faster then the guy next to you, and you look up and there it is; the finish line.  It’s only 20 meters away, and you are neck and neck with one of the other competitors.  Everything in you is yelling, “go faster, go faster!”  But you have to be careful.  If you don’t pay attention, you might accidentally begin to run.  Then you would definitely lose the race.  Often times we find ourselves in similar situations at work, at home, or on our morning commute.  You’ve been working on a project, and this goes for anything from work to hobbies, and it’s taken a long while to complete.  You are so close to finishing that you get that urge to go faster and race through the end to the finish line.  But you have to watch it because you might make a mistake, drop a stitch, miss a calculation, or any number of things.

I have found that when I’ve taken a long time to come to a decision on something big and/or important (after weighing the pros and cons, determining that the effort is worth it, and that it is something that I truly desire) I almost want to rush through and complete the task, buy the item, etc.  I spent all that time making the decision, that now that I have decided for it, I want the instant gratification of owning/completing/doing whatever it is that I decided on.  But there are times this is not possible, so you have to plan out when you have to, or will be able to, work on a project, join a group, take a class, etc.  And if you don’t keep track of deadlines, you might miss the opportunity and have to wait for it to come around again, if it ever does.

Taking all of this into account, I have made some decisions lately that will affect myself, and occasionally my job and others around me.  The first thing is I accepted the position of Deputy Operations on the CERT team where I work.  While it may seem as if it won’t change things much, it is a huge responsibility and I feel that I need to take some more training before I am fully comfortable in that role.  This training, though free, will of course be taken on my own time.  Two more responsibilities I have agreed to take on involve the Chorale.  I have agreed to be the POC for t-shirts, and I have agreed to work with another member of the board to plan social gatherings for the members so that we can get to know each other better outside of practice.  Also, depending on the decision of the Chorale board, I may also become the Secretary for the board.  This will also eat into my personal time, though not too much.  The next thing I have agreed to do is write a proposal for a fundraising idea I had for Frisco Arts and many of the groups here, like the Chorale, community bands, etc.  I have never written a proposal in my life, so this will be interesting.  I have applied and interviewed for another position in my department, which may or may not require more responsibility on my part if I get the position.

Even with all of the recent and potential changes to my life, I have made one more huge decision.  I have decided to go back to school and complete my Bachelor’s of Biology.  I have been thinking about going back to school for the last year, and this week, I finally made the decision.  It will be about a 5 year or less commitment on my part as I will only be able to take about one class a semester, but I spoke to my adviser and the admissions department at my university, and yesterday I took the plunge.  I filled out the application and submitted it to the university.  It was a bit more difficult than I thought it would be simply because the application isn’t really designed for people in my situation.  You either have to choose incoming Freshman or Transfer student and neither one of those really fits.  Though I was able to select that I am wishing to complete my second undergraduate degree, the rest of the application still didn’t make sense for me.  But I filled it out to the best of my ability, and now, I can only hope for the best.  That I didn’t fill it out so completely wrong, that they deny my admission.

Now that I have made this decision, I am ready to dive right in and start school again.  But I have to remind myself that all is not said and done.  I still have to wait for decisions from others before I can move forward.  And if I get lucky, and I am able to start back to school this fall, I will have to continue to tell myself: Walk, Don’t Run.

Leave a Reply

