On A Roll

Earlier this week we had a Winter Storm system move through the North Texas area.

Ice

Compared to the north and northeastern parts of the US and much of Canada, it really wasn’t much.  About 2 inches in many places.  But it was 2 inches of ice (that is sleet in the picture above), not snow, thus our schools decided to close for 2 days and since I work in higher education, I got those 2 days off, as well.  It was nice and relaxing.  I got to watch some movies, chill with George, and work on the NES.

Border Beginning

I made it through the final rows of the feather ring and was able to start on the border by Tuesday evening.  By the end of lunch today, I’ve made some pretty good progress.

Border 2

That is 129 rows with 1023 remaining.  Or, and this sounds much better, 8 pattern repeats and 64 repeats left to knit.  This is my first attempt at adding a border to a project like this.  It is going much more quickly than I thought it would and it’s actually much easier than I thought, as well.  If I am consistent in working on it, I will be able to finish it next week sometime.

My Battle With The Blerch Con’t

Well, for the most part, I have been doing okay.  I have not been as active as I should have been the last few days, though I did go for a 20 minute walk with George one day last week.  (This is a big step for me, you have no idea.)  Part of that is because I have gotten caught up in finishing the Never Ending Shawl.  For the first time since I started it almost a year ago, the end is in sight and that can be a very heady thing.  And for the first time in months, I am actually excited about working on it again.  But that is just a convenient excuse.  I haven’t been active because I have chosen not to be and that is entirely on me.  Admitting that is another first step of sorts.  It means I recognize the problem, now I just need to fix it.  As for alcohol, except for Saturday, I have not had any since last Tuesday night.  The Blerch and I have a deal, there are certain instances where it is acceptable to drink and The Blerch is not allowed to get obnoxious about adding alcohol back into the routine.  Saturday was one of those times.  I had a good time, but sometimes, you just need a little something to get you through certain types of gatherings.  Plus, so long as you drink in moderation, it is not altogether a bad thing to drink occasionally.  Overall, the first week of battle has gone relatively well, considering.  Now I just need to be a little more aggressive in my fight for more physical activity.

Leave a Reply

