And So It Goes…Again…And Again…And Again…

Well, after finding that “issue” in the Never Ending Shawl last time, I seriously did not want to look at it or even think about it for a little while.  But last weekend, I pulled it out of the basket, yet again, and decided what to do about the situation.

Restart

I felt a bit like Inigo, I have once more gone back to the beginning, and it sort of feels like that is where I’m going to stay.  But I persevered and I started a different pattern since I really didn’t care for the feather and fan anyway.  It just wasn’t what I was looking for; way too scrunchy.  But this time?

New Pattern

This time, I think I found the right pattern.  It’s much more open, which is what I wanted.  And it has a sort of “layered” look to it.  Like the ends of feathers on top of the other feathers in each row.  (If that makes sense.  Sometimes I have a slight difficulty finding the right words.)  That right there is about 26 rows into the ring.  It already looks much better and more like I wanted than the 5o some-odd rows of before.

I love it when a plan comes together.

Now, I just need to figure out how I want to finish it.

 

Added after publishing:

After a conversation with my sister, I decided to add this to my post and to try and keep an accurate accounting as I continue to fight against this issue.

My Battle With The Blerch

February 19, 2015

Over the last few years, I have had a major struggle with my weight.  I seem to not feel motivated to exercise, I would drink more alcohol than I should, and eat and drink other things that are not good for you.  Up until a couple of years ago, I would drink multiple Diet Cokes a day, beginning with one for breakfast and continue drinking one after the other until I went to sleep.  That is definitely not healthy behavior.  I have changed that.  For over a year, I did not have a Diet Coke, and I didn’t have much of any coffee, tea, or alcohol.  But this last year, I began to pick up again on soft drinks and coffee and alcohol.  Last week, I decided to cut out the soft drinks again.  And I’ve felt better.  I don’t drag as much in the afternoon as I did last Monday and Tuesday when I had a soft drink during the day.  I had a coworker ask me what I was on because I had more energy and I was more upbeat.  The answer was simply water.  That was the only thing I had changed that day.  The power of water.  It’s much greater than you think.

I have picked up on the coffee, but so long as I don’t drink it all day every day, things aren’t too bad.  It’s also coffee that we make at home with a miniscule amount of milk and sugar added.  I have also picked up on the sweet tea intake.  That needs to stop as well.  As soon as I finish this pitcher I made last night, I will not make another one for at least a week.  I’m hoping this will help to keep me from wanting the tea.  If I really desire some tea, I can make a cup of hot tea, which I actually enjoy and takes more time and effort to make than a pitcher of sweet tea.

Over the last couple of years, I keep thinking, “I need to do something about this.  This is not healthy.  I need to start exercising and making better choices.”  But that little voice of The Blerch kept talking me out of it.  “It’s too cold.  It’s too hot.  That Scream marathon isn’t going to watch itself.  Oooh pizza, we totally need some pizza.  And Pasta.  Add in some of those garlic bread slices, too.  Yum-o.”  The Blerch is a definite Frenemy. He is there to let you know that it is occasionally okay to splurge a little, be lazy for a day, do something just for you and no one else.  But this Blerch is getting too big for his britches.  He is always there.  He is constantly whispering in my ear telling me to do this, don’t do that, you don’t need that, you need this.  And my capitulation has given him this power over me.  I am the heaviest and unhealthiest I have ever been and it has to stop.

Last night, I made the first step in the battle with my own personal Blerch.  I told myself earlier in the day that I would not have an alcoholic beverage at any point that night.  There were a couple of times where I thought that just one would be fine, but that is a trap and I refused to fall into it.  I made it.  I did not have an alcoholic beverage at all last night.  I won the first skirmish.  But the battle has only begun.

Leave a Reply

