The Light Bulb

There have been plenty of moments for me over the last few years as I teach myself to knit, that I will just stare at a pattern uncomprehending. “What on earth does that mean?!” Then after thinking about it different ways, trying to knit what it says, suddenly the light bulb goes on over my head. “That’s what they were trying to tell me!”

Such is not the case with a pattern that I am test knitting for the border of my shawl. It is from an old pattern that has been rewritten and I am not quite following it. I start to have an “ah ha” moment, but then that doesn’t turn out to be quite right. I have trouble just making it through the 3rd or 4th line.

And this is the perfect example of why you might want to test knit a pattern before you try to incorporate it into your work. You may have issues just understanding what the pattern is telling you.

Leave a Reply

