Doin’ The Continental

And no, I’m not talking about the Ginger Rogers/Fred Asgtaire song and dance from The Gay Divorcee.  I’ve decided to try knitting continental.  It’s a bit awkward, but I can see how it might be a faster way of knitting once you get the hang of it.

I did finally find some yarn for my shawl.

yarn

It is a beautiful hand dyed Peruvian yarn that I picked up from Yarn and Stitches yesterday at lunch.  It is Araucania Huasco Extra fine Merino Wool yarn.

Today, I had the day off as I had other plans that fell though, so I ended up spending the day like this:

Scarf 1

A LOTR and knitting marathon.  A perfect way to spend a Friday.  That is the beginning of my “swatch”.  I can hear you all now: “Um…that is a bit round for a swatch.”  Yes, it is.  It is my test shawl so that I can see how my pattern works in the round.  A pattern that works flat and in a square or rectangle, may not work in the round.  This pattern is going to be entered into the State Fair, so I want to make sure that the pattern itself is a good one before I go to the trouble and expense of getting the specially dyed yarn that I would like for the final product.  Therefore, this is my test knit.  I really hope it turns out well so that I can wear this one as well as submit the final knit to the Fair.  I have realized with this knit that I placed things a little early in the pattern, but with the denseness, it may work out for the best.  Fingers crossed, yeah?

Leave a Reply

